Value for any year
17kgCO₂e/hour
Biogenic CO₂ and land use excluded · GWP100 · GWP vintage not stated
FossilBio CH₄Land useBio CO₂GHG Protocol and IPCC inventoriesOne value, for any year
Syke sets no date window, so there is no year to pick.
Reference year 2026
- Region
- Finland FI
- Boundary
- Well-to-use
- Data quality
- MediumRated by us, not by the source
- Licence
- Open · Syke terms
Where 17 comes from
Syke prints this factor as a single figure, with no parts to add up and no split by gas.
Reporting this hour under the GHG Protocol
Scope 3, category 1 17
Goods and services you buy are Scope 3, category 1, purchased goods and services.
The factor, standardised
Every factor on open-climate.ai answers the same questions in the same words, whatever the publisher. Open any ⓘ for the definition.
Services › Other services · Finland · per hour · Generic
Well-to-use · Excl. biogenic CO₂
- BoundaryWell-to-useOne unit of energy as consumed, priced from the well to the point of use: the well-to-tank chain plus the burn for a fuel; generation, its well-to-tank and the transmission and distribution losses for a delivered carrier (electricity, steam or hot water, chilled water). Learn more
- Well-to-use
- Fuel supply and fuel combustion
- GWP methodWhich IPCC assessment report's warming potentials convert each gas to CO₂e, and over how many years the warming is counted (GWP100: 100 years). Learn more
- Not stated by the publisher
- CO₂e basisWhich carbon the CO₂e counts. Fossil only leaves out biogenic methane, land-use change and biogenic CO₂; excl. biogenic CO₂ counts biogenic methane but not the other two; net total counts every pool, net of removals. The same activity on two bases is two different numbers. Learn more
- Excl. biogenic CO₂FossilBio CH₄Land useBio CO₂GHG Protocol and IPCC inventories
- Not split by gas; CO₂e only
Medium quality · Open licence · Any year
What this number covers
What Syke counts in the figure for 1 hour, phase by phase.
Upstream
- Fuel supply chain
IncludedProduction
- Fuel combustion
IncludedYour record
1 hour in your records. The factor is per hour.
= 17
Outside this boundary
- Plant and equipment
Syke does not count any of this in the figure for 1 hour.
From Syke's record to a comparable factor
Syke publishes this factor as one record. Here is each field as printed and what open-climate.ai made of it.
About this factor
From Syke
Where it applies
Per operating hour, considering the assumed average operating power of the machine in relation to its maximum power.Source and licence
- Publisher
- Finnish Environment Institute (Syke)
- Library
- Syke v01.00.013
- Record
- c7947750-1624-47d4-abdf-18175476003e
- Published
- 25 September 2026
The values and their metadata are served in full and may be reused with credit to the publisher.
The contents of the databases are freely available for use as a machine-readable and continuously updated file in JSON format.
Cite this factor
Source: CO2data.fi, Finnish Environment Institute (Syke). Normalised by open-climate.ai, https://open-climate.ai/factors/libraries/syke/ (CC BY 4.0). https://open-climate.ai/factors/ef-syke-earth_drilling_rig-fi-hour-well_to_use-563c68d8/?v=efv1-bf5754109b8d442be20db4b52752ef23
Something looks wrong?
Tell us which value and why. We check it against the source and answer within a week.