Emission factor from UOS v7.0.1

Nitrogen in fertiliser, direct and indirect emission

Iceland · Any year

Each kilogram of nitrogen counts as 5.44 kg CO₂e. UOS gives one figure, for use in any year.

Value for any year

5.44kgCO₂e/kg N

GWP100 · IPCC AR5

One value, for any year

UOS sets no date window, so there is no year to pick.

Reference year 2024

Region
Iceland IS
Boundary
Boundary not stated
Data quality
MediumRated by us, not by the source
Licence
Open · UOS terms

Where 5.44 comes from

Published as one number

UOS prints this factor as a single figure, with no parts to add up and no split by gas.

Reporting this kilogram under the GHG Protocol

The publisher does not state what the value covers, so no scope can be assigned.

Check UOS's record before you report it, or pick a factor with a stated boundary.

CiteAPI

The factor, standardised

Every factor on open-climate.ai answers the same questions in the same words, whatever the publisher. Open any ⓘ for the definition.

Direct emissions › Agricultural process emissions · Iceland · per kg N · Average

Excl. biogenic CO₂ · AR5

Boundary
Not stated by the publisher
GWP method
IPCC AR5, 100-year horizon
As printed by UOS
CO₂e basis
Excl. biogenic CO₂
Not split by gas; CO₂e only

Medium quality · Open licence · Any year

What this number covers

UOS does not say which steps of the production this figure includes, so there is no chain to draw.

From UOS's record to a comparable factor

UOS publishes this factor as one record. Here is each field as printed and what open-climate.ai made of it.

About this factor

From UOS

Mikilvægt er að reikna aðeins losun vegna magns niturs í áburðinum en ekki vegna heildarmagns áburðarins. Bein og óbein hláturgaslosun vegna áburðarnotkunar. Óbein losun er losun vegna uppgufunar og útskolunar ammóníaks og nituroxíða.

Source and licence

Publisher
Umhverfis- og orkustofnun
Library
UOS v7.0.1
Published
18 December 2025
Open the record at UOS

The values and their metadata are served in full and may be reused with credit to the publisher.

Credit it with this lineUmhverfis- og orkustofnun (Icelandic Environment and Energy Agency), Losunarstuðlar, 7th edition (December 2025)
A plain reading of the licence, not legal advice. The licence text prevails.

Cite this factor

Umhverfis- og orkustofnun (Icelandic Environment and Energy Agency), Losunarstuðlar, 7th edition (December 2025). Normalised by open-climate.ai, https://open-climate.ai/factors/libraries/uos_iceland/ (CC BY 4.0). https://open-climate.ai/factors/ef-uosiceland-nitrogen_direct_indirect-is-kg_n-640a99aa/?v=efv1-65f4840517c745366bc975d83f7eba89

Something looks wrong?

Tell us which value and why. We check it against the source and answer within a week.